The category of life things involves organizing life forms based upon shared characteristics. The word taxonomy is the term supplied to define the category of life things. The taxonomy that living points starts in ~ the broadest level and also moves to the most details level. The simple taxonomy of living things requires eight distinct levels. Every level that the taxonomy is described as an individual taxon.

You are watching: What characteristics are used to classify organisms

taxonomy of living things human being

Level 1: Domain

There room three domains: Eukarya, Bacteria and also Archaea. The broadest way to divide a living point is to decide which of this three domains it falls within.

Living things within the Eukarya domain space the ones most most likely to be spanned in basic science or straightforward biology classes. This domain contains plants, animals, protists and fungi. Bacteria and Archaea space single-celled organisms that differ v regards to your cellular structure. These are likely to be covered in progressed science courses.

Domain was not constantly included in the taxonomy of life things. It to be taught as a seven-level taxonomy for plenty of years, yet an eighth level (domain) was included in 1990.

Level 2: Kingdom

The simple taxonomy of living things includes six kingdoms. Every of the three domains (above) is associated with specific kingdoms.

Eubacteria (domain Bacteria) - common bacteria favor the an excellent bacteria discovered in yogurt and the poor bacteria that cause bacterial infectionsArchaebacteria (domain Archaea) - unusual bacteria such as those uncovered in settings that space devoid that oxygen or are exceptionally acidicPlantae (domain Eukarya) - every plantsAnimalia (domain Eukarya) - all animals Fungi (domain Eukarya) - spore creating organisms (mushrooms, tree, yeast, and also most mold)Protists (domain Eukarya) - microorganisms the don’t autumn into one of the other kingdoms (algae and slime mold)

Example: because that each level, review how humans room classified. People belong to the kingdom Animalia.

Level 3: Phylum

Once a decision has been made about which kingdom a living organism have to be divide in, the following step is to determine which phylum the belongs in. There are multiple phyla (plural that phylum) for each kingdom. Instances of few of the most commonly known phyla include:

Anthophyta (kingdom Plantae) - flower plants, including vegetables, fruit, beans, and also nuts Arthropoda (kingdom Animalia) - invertebrate animals with one exoskeleton, segmented bodies, jointed limbs, and a vented central nervous systemChordata (kingdom Animalia) - pets that have a notochord (like the umbilical cord on a baby), a dorsal hollow nerve cord (spinal cord), pharyngeal slits, and a sensible or vestigial tailConiferophyta (kingdom Plantae) - plants that stay green year-round, such as fir and juniper trees

Example: people are in the phylum Chordata.

Level 4: Class

Once an organism has actually been assigned to a phylum, assigning it come a class is the following step in classification. Plenty of classes are assigned to every phylum. of several classes in the phylum Chordata include:

Amphibia - pets born v gills the later build lungs and also spend parts of their stays in water and parts ~ above land; they have to reproduce in water Aves - heat blooded animals with wings; lock reproduce through internal fertilization and also lay egg Mammalia - vertebrate animals that have devoted teeth, solid jaws, are conceived and born via the mom reproductive tract, and also nurse indigenous their mothers Reptilia - cold-blooded animals with dry, rough skin; all except for snakes room tetrapods (which way they have four legs)

Example: human beings are in the class Mammalia.

Level 5: Order

Once one organism has actually been assigned to a class, the next step in group would it is in to use a taxonomic an essential to entrust it to an order. Each class includes number of orders. Because that example, there are 19 assignment within class Mammalia. A few include:

Carnivora - mammals that have actually canine teeth useful to their mostly meat-centric diet; many are fur covered and also tend come be little to medium in sizeChiroptera - consists solely the bats, which space the just mammals that have actually the capacity to flyPrimates - mammals with flat nails top top theirs hands (instead the claws), relatively large brains, capability to sit and stand upright, requires treatment for an extended time after birth

Example: humans are in the order Primates.

Level 6: Family

After identifying an organism"s order, the following step in group is to recognize which family it is in. Every order has multiple families. A few of the dozen primate families include:

Hylobatidae - the lesser apes (gibbons and siamangs)Hominidae - the good apes (chimpanzees, gorillas, orangutans, and also humans)

Example: humans are in the family Hominidae.

Level 7: Genus

Each family in the taxonomy of life things deserve to be established by genus. Because that the family Hominidae, the genus divisions are as noted below. Please note that, unlike the ahead levels, genus and species names have to not it is in capitalized and also should it is in italicized.

pan (chimpanzees) gorilla (gorillas)pongo (orangutans)homo (humans)

Example: human beings are in the genus homo.

Level 8: Species

The last level of category is species. In some cases, there is only one varieties per genus, when there space multiple types for others.

The genus homo has only one varieties (sapiens).

Example: humans are in the varieties sapiens.

Acronym for Remembering the Taxonomy

If you’re trying to find an easy method to aid you mental the level of the taxonomy, over there is a mnemonic device that can aid you remember the category names in the ideal sequence. The an initial letter in every word of the complying with sentence is the exact same as the an initial letter of every level, in order: “Do kings play chess top top fine gold stands?”

do - Domainkings - kingdomplay - playchess - classon - orderfine - familygold -genusstands - species

See more: How To Remove Chewing Gum From Leather Seats, How To Remove Chewing Gum Stains

Categorizing Life Forms

This taxonomy is grounded in the occupational of Carl Linnaeus, that in the 1700s presented the an initial system because that classifying living organisms in a consistent manner. Prior to the arrival of the Linnaean system, there wasn’t an agreed-upon mechanism for categorizing living organisms. The system he introduced centuries ago has been refined by scientists over thousands of years, however still forms the communication of the device used today.

Expanding Your scientific Knowledge

Now the you have actually a basic understanding of just how living organisms are classified, friend should know what it way when human beings are referred to as homo sapiens. That is merely the proper terminology for the genus and types of human beings. Further broaden your scientific understanding by experimenting the key characteristics of living things.